At the Sree Kanteerava Stadium on Thursday, Bengaluru FC secured a top-four finish in the Indian Super League (ISL) with an eight-consecutive win over FC Goa. As the Blues topped Sivasakthi Narayanan’s season tally with two goals and Pablo Perez scored the third, Odisha FC confirmed their place as the sixth and final team in the playoffs as they ended the Gaurs’ playoff race.

The hosts won three consecutive corners in the first five minutes and broke the deadlock with the third. The ball was curled into the box for the third time by Roshan Naorem and an unmarked Narayanan headed it in from close range to give the hosts an early lead.

FC Goa searched for a win to stay alive in the competition and, with five minutes gone, Noah Sadaoui put in a cross from the left which was deflected twice before falling to Redeem Tlang. From a tight angle he managed to get his shot away but Gurpreet Singh Sandhu had it covered. Soon after Tlang tried his luck from 25 yards out only to be thwarted again by Gurpreet. Naorem’s free kick at the other end of the pitch found Sunil Chhetri but Dheeraj Moirangthem was equal to it.