‘Oppenheimer,’ ‘Poor Things,’ ‘Saltburn,’ ‘Spider-Man’ take top honors from Art Directors Guild

Posted by

“Oppenheimer,” “Poor Things,” “Saltburn,” and “Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse” have won top feature-film prizes at the 28th annual Art Directors Guild Excellence in Production Design Awards, which were held . Saturday in Hollywood.

“Oppenheimer” won for period film, “Poor Things” for fantasy, “Saltburn” for contemporary and “Spider-Man” for animated film.

“Poor Things” was considered a somewhat surprise winner as “Barbie” was also nominated in the category, and winners Shona Heath and James Price said in their acceptance speeches that they did not expect to win. The win could move them closer to victory at next month’s Oscars, where “Poor Things” has 11 nominations.

In the television categories, awards went to “Succession,” “The Great,” “Reservation Dogs,” “The Last of Us,” “Beef,” “Frasier,” “Squid Game: The Challenge,” and the 80th Golden Globe Awards. award ceremony. The first three titles were awarded for their final seasons on TV.

Taylor Swift’s “I Can See You” won the short form and music video awards at the same ceremony in 2023, after two losses to the pop star for video.

In a rare case of a tie, Apple and Booking.com shared the award for the commercial.

In the first 27 years of the ADG Awards, one of its winners has won the Oscar for Best Production Design 19 times, including nine times in the last 10 years. The only exception came last year when “All Quiet on the Western Front” won an Oscar after losing to ADG Award winner “Babylon.”

ADG winners “Poor Things” and “Oppenheimer” have been nominated for Oscars for Best Production Design; “Saltburn” and “Spider-Man” are not.

Also at the show, director Mimi Leder received the Cinematic Imagery Award, while Lawrence G. Paul was a Hall of Fame honoree. Lifetime Achievement Awards were given to David Lowery, Greg Papalia, Wynn P. Thomas and Francine West.

barbie - dirty things

The show took place at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at the Ovation Hollywood Center. Actor Max Greenfield hosted the ceremony.

Here is the full list of winners:

Feature Film Winner:

period feature film: “Oppenheimer”
Production Designer: Ruth de Jong

fantasy feature film: “poor things”
Production Designer: James Price, Shona Heath

Contemporary Feature Film: “Saltburn”
Production Designer: Suzy Davis

Animated Feature Film: “Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse”
Production Designer: Patrick O’Keeffe

Television Winners:

Hour-long single-camera series: “The Great”: “You the People,” “Fun,” “Peter and the Wolf”
Production Designer: Francesca Di Mottola

One-hour fantasy single-camera series:”The Last of Us”: “Infected”
Production Designer: John Peno

One-hour contemporary single camera series:”succession”: “America decides”
Production Designer: Stephen Carter

Television movie or limited series: “beef”
Production Designer: Grace Yun

Half-hour single-camera series:”Reservation Dog”: “Deer Lady”
Production Designer: Brandon Toner-Connolly

Multi-Camera Series: “Frasier”: “Moving In”
Production Designer: Glenda Rovello

Variety or reality series:”Squid Game: Challenge”: “War”
Production Designer: Matthew Weeks, Benjamin Norman

variety special: “80th Golden Globe Awards”
Production Designer: Brian Stonestreet

commercials: (tie)

Apple: New MacBook Pro: “Scary fast”
Production Designer: François Audouy

Booking.com: “Anywhere, Anywhere,” The Musical (TIE)
Production Designer: Flornesia Martin

Short format and music videos:Taylor Swift: “I Can See You”
Production Designer: Ethan Tobman

#Oppenheimer #Poor #Saltburn #SpiderMan #top #honors #Art #Directors #Guild

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts