Indian Sports News Wrap, 10 February

Posted by


Ramkumar gets wild card for Bengaluru Open

India’s second highest-ranked player Ramkumar Ramanathan has been given a wild card entry into the singles main draw of the Bengaluru Open, organizers announced on Saturday.

Ramkumar, who led India in the recent Davis Cup tie against Pakistan, has reached the singles finals on the ATP Challenger circuit seven times, winning his only title in Manama, Bahrain in November 2021.

Interestingly, Ramkumar had won his seventh and last doubles Challenger title with compatriot Saketh Myneni in Bengaluru two years ago.

“I am extremely happy and grateful that the Bengaluru Open has given me a wild card into the singles main draw. I am looking forward to the tournament. Bengaluru has always been a happy hunting ground for me and I have many special memories here. I just want to thank the entire organization for trusting me. Let the best player win. I am going to give my best,” said Ramkumar, ranked 459th.

The Bengaluru Open will be the second Challenger tournament of the season for Ramkumar, who made it to the Nonthaburi event in January through the qualifiers.

The organizers have also provided wild card entries to Prajwal Dev and his partner Siddhant Banthia in the doubles main draw along with the team of Manish Sureshkumar and Sai Karthik Reddy.

The Bengaluru Open is being organized by the Karnataka State Lawn Tennis Association (KSLTA) at the KSLTA Stadium. The ATP Challenger event will begin on February 12 and conclude on February 18.

– Team Sportstar

Siddhant Banthia and Sai Karteek lose quarterfinals in Turkey

Siddhant Banthia and Sai Karthik Reddy were defeated by Samuel Pieri and Dane Alexandru Tomescu 6-2, 6-1 in the doubles quarterfinals of the $25,000 ITF men’s tennis tournament in Antalya, Turkey.


$25,000 ITF Men, Antalya, Turkey: Doubles (quarterfinals): Samuel Pieri (Ita) and Dan Alexandru Tomescu (Rau) beat Siddhant Banthia and Sai Karthik Reddy 6-2, 6-1.

$25,000 ITF Men’s Hammamet, Tunisia: Doubles (Pre-Quarterfinals): Thomas Fancutt (AU) and Aziz Okaka (TUN) defeated partners Reddy Chirala and Jay Clarke (GBR) 6-3, 6-0.

$15,000 ITF Men, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt: Doubles (Pre-Quarterfinals): Hayato Matsuoka (JPN) and Faris Zakaria (Egypt) beat Kevin Portman (Ita) and Rishiraj Shekhawat 6-2, 6-0.

$25,000 ITF Women, Wesley Chapel, USA: Doubles (Pre-quarterfinals): Lia Karatantcheva (Bull) and Victoria Osuigwe (USA) beat Riya Bhatia and Amanda Elkin (Max) 6-3, 6-2.

$15,000 ITF Women, Monastir, Tunisia: Doubles (Pre-quarterfinals): Celina Dal (Germany) and Stefanie Visscher (Ned) beat Sandipti Singh Rao and Demi Tran (Ned) 6-4, 6-7(4), [10-3],

-Kamesh Srinivasan

More Games

India ends BIMSTEC aquatics meeting as leader, Thailand comes second

Host India won the inaugural Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectional Technical and Economic Cooperation (BIMSTEC) aquatic competition with 19 gold, 27 silver and eight bronze medals at the Syama Prasad Mukherjee Swimming Pool.

India won 19 gold medals, including 11 for men and eight for women, in the competition held at the Shyama Prasad Mukherjee Swimming Pool in New Delhi. , Photo Credit: Special Arrangement


India won 19 gold medals, including 11 for men and eight for women, in the competition held at the Shyama Prasad Mukherjee Swimming Pool in New Delhi. , Photo Credit: Special Arrangement

Indian men won 11 golds and women won eight golds. In the men’s category, Thailand finished second with seven gold, three silver and 12 bronze. In the women’s category, Thailand topped the list with nine gold, six silver and three bronze medals.

Sri Lanka won 10 bronze medals in the seven-nation competition. Nepal managed to get one bronze medal.

Harsh Saroha won the best swimmer award in the men’s category with three golds. Maria Andelko of Thailand was declared the best swimmer in the women’s category as she won three golds and a silver medal.

Thailand’s Kittapart Kaewmart won the men’s 50m freestyle with a timing of 23.71 seconds, ahead of Indian swimmers Joshua Thomas (23.8) and Veer Khatkar (24.10).

In the women’s 50m freestyle, Thailand’s Kamonlak Tungnapakorn won the title by 27 seconds, ahead of compatriot Pannita Chavanuchit (27.14). Alefiya Dhansura (27.42) won the bronze medal for India.

India won the diving championship for both men and women. In water polo, Thailand won both the men’s and women’s championships by defeating India 31–7 and 24–3 respectively.

-Kamesh Srinivasan

#Indian #Sports #News #Wrap #February

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts